Security Council, its sanctions committees and expert groups

Currently, the Security Council has 15 sanctions regimes. It has become common practice to appoint for each regime a sanctions Committee, consisting of representatives of the 15 Security Council member States with one of the Permanent Representatives of the elected ten member States assuming in his personal capacity the Chair for a committee.

It has also become common practice for the maintenance of most regimes to deploy an expert group, as the “eyes and ears” of the Sanctions Committee. The expert groups consist between 1-10 individuals, who are recruited and appointed by the Secretary General based on skills, expertise relevant to the monitoring of the implementation of all sanctions measures and policies, as well as their geographic and gender diversity.

In breaking with previous practices in unwinding existing sanctions implementation obligations, resolution 2231 (2015) is not called a sanctions regime, and is not implemented under the guidance of a Sanctions Committee. The Security Council, with the assistance of a state member of the Council acting as facilitator (on an annual basis), a Joint Commission, and the Secretariat, assumes a direct role to ensure that all states comply with specific restrictions that still apply according to the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Actions (JCPOA), which is in  Annex B of resolution 2231 (2015).