The UN Sanctions System

The principal enabling mechanism for UN sanctions are resolutions adopted by the Security Council. Adopted under Chapter VII of the UN Charter, they impose binding implementation obligations for all UN Member States. Periodically, the policies enshrined in these resolutions are reviewed and adapted to changing conditions and threats.

The implementation of UN sanctions requires a complex collaboration between the UN Security Council and its mechanisms, Member States and their ministries and technical agencies, and the UN Secretariat coordinating various technical UN and other organizations – all of them implementing five sanctions measures: arms embargo (conventional or WMD), ban on individual travel, blocking of assets and other economic sanctions, ban the exportation of luxury goods to North Korea, and restrictions of diplomatic relations and privileges.